Spring concert (Stravinsky, Bernstein, Rutter), 29 April 2018

Melissa Richards has created a Spotify playlist of the spring concert repertoire which you can access here.

Suggested recordings: 
Bernstein: Steven Cleobury, King’s College Cambridge
Stravinsky: John Eliot Gardiner, Monteverdi Choir and London Symphony Orchestra
Rutter: John Rutter, The Cambridge Singers and City of London Sinfonia

New recording:
For anybody who has not yet acquired recordings a new release by  award-winning choir Tenebrae has just been released, including the Stravinsky and the Bernstein with smaller works by Schoenberg and Zemlinsky. Currently available at a special price from Presto Classics.

After suggestions from David Lyall here are YouTube links for Hebrew pronunciation for movement 1, movement 2, movement 3.

Jackie Sanjana (tenor) has found a YouTube performance of which she says though the recording quality and performance are not good, the boy treble (around 5 minutes in) has excellent pronunciation and pitching.

Richard Hardingham (tenor) has found a CD with the voice parts and pronunciation of the Chichester Psalms here.

Date Time Conductor Location Rehearsal notes
Monday 8 January * 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Listen to the whole of the Bernstein Chichester Psalms and the first movement of the Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms.
Next week Rebecca will be introducing the Bernstein.
Monday 15 January 19.30-21.30 Rebecca St John’s Church Hall Bernstein: Movt 1 Bars 66 to 85; Movt 2 Bars 64 – 116 (pronunciation);
Movt 3 Bar 60 to the end.
Stravinsky: Listen to and prepare Movt 3 for next week’s rehearsal
Monday 22 January 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Prepare Stravinsky Movements 2 and 3 and Bernstein Movements 2 and 3
Monday 29 January 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall  Bernstein Movements 2 and 3. Stravinsky Movement 3
Monday 5 February 19.30-21.30 Rebecca St John’s Church Hall Stravinsky: review Movement 3, especially from figure 8 to the end. Movement 2 – the a cappella section at figure 10. Bernstein: Movement 1. Next week we will have sectional rehearsals for the first half of the evening.
Monday 12 February * 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Review Bernstein: Movement 3, Stravinsky: Movement 3, and Rutter: Movements
1, 3 and 5.
Monday 19 February 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Stravinsky: Movement 3, bars 15 to 18; Bernstein: Movement 1; Rutter: Movements 4, 5 and 6.
Monday 26 February 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Rutter: Movement 5 from figure B to C and Movement 7; Stravinsky: Movement 3 Bars 14 – 18 and 20 – 28 and Movement 2; Bernstein: Movement 2
Monday 5 March 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Rutter: Movement 7 letter I to the end, Movements 1 and 6; Bernstein: Movement 2; Stravinsky: Movement 1
Monday 12 March * 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Rutter: Movements 2, 3 & 4; Bernstein: Movement 3; Stravinsky: Movements 1, 2 & 3
Monday 19 March 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Rutter: Movements 4, 5 & 6; Bernstein: Movements 1 & 2; Stravinsky: Movement 3
Monday 26 March 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Stravinsky: all movements; Bernstein: all movements; Rutter: movement 5 from G to the end, movements 6 and 7
Monday 2 April Easter      
Monday 9 April 19.30-21.30 Craig  St Peter’s Church Please be ready to sing all three works with Rebecca over the next 2 rehearsals.
Monday 16 April 19.30-21.30 Rebecca St John’s Church Hall All of Rutter, especially Movement 2; Stravinsky: Movement 2.
Monday 23 April 19.30-21.30 Rebecca St John’s Church Hall  
Saturday 28 April 15.00-18.00 Rebecca – orchestra rehearsal Henry Wood Hall, Trinity Church Square, London, SE1 4HU  
Sunday 29 April 10.00-12.00 Rebecca Assembly Hall  
Sunday 29 April 15.00 Rebecca Assembly Hall CONCERT

Summer concert, 24 June 2018

Date Time Conductor Location Rehearsal notes
Monday 30 April 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall Members’ social 20.30-21.30
Monday 7 May Bank Holiday      
Monday 14 May * 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall  
Monday 21 May 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall  
Monday 28 May Bank Holiday      
Monday 4 June 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall  
Monday 11 June * 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall  
Monday 18 June 19.30-21.30 Jamie St John’s Church Hall  
Sunday 24 June 15.00 Jamie Tunbridge Wells United Reformed Church Rehearsal
Sunday 24 June 18.00 Jamie Tunbridge Wells United Reformed Church CONCERT

* On these dates, as a courtesy to our hosts in order to facilitate parking for the Parish Church Council, members are asked not to park on any part of the area to the north of the church – the side near the lawn. Please park either in the main car park or away from the premises altogether.
This table will be updated regularly as information becomes available.